CA Parks Update


I just finished reading my calparks newsletter and thought I would report on some key updates.

AB 42 has been signed into law by Gov. Brown and will take effect on Jan 1.  Assembly Bill 42 will allow nonprofits to help operate state parks that might otherwise close.  This is a great news in the fight to save CA parks!

If you are not familiar with the parks that are due to close calparks.org has launched a gorgeous new website mag70.calparks.org that has stunning images and information about each park.

Here are just a few images from magnificent 70 parks that are slated to close.

savestateparks.org also has been updated and offers new tools to spread the word about park closures and information on how to help by giving time and money.

To make sure you stay updated follow the calparks blog.

 

About homegoo

My name’s Brian and this site is part of my endeavor to embrace my love of cycling and self-improvement. Background: I grew up loving bicycles. I started on a direct drive 16” hand me down with hard rubber tires. From there I got my first BMX bike a 20” Western Flyer with mag wheels; I’ll bet it weighed 30lbs. After that I graduated to my first real quality bike a chrome alloy Redline that was sadly stolen when I neglected to bring it into the garage at a friend’s house. My loving parents were kind enough to replace it with a used Kuwahara which I loved because Elliot from E.T. had a Kuwahara. Around this time I was 11 years old and an opportunity to buy a bicycle shop happened to be presented to my father. The BICYCLE GODS had heard my prayers! My ultimate dream had come true my father purchased Continental Bicycles in Raytown MO. I worked alongside my father every weekend and summer until he decided to close the shops doors around the time I was eighteen. As you may expect during this time I acquired a number of bikes. I raced BMX for many years on a Profile that I loved. I went to college and continued to work in a local bike shop every summer Midwest Cyclery. By the time I went to graduate school I turned my attention to other pursuits beyond cycling and had not really ridden my bike for about 10 years! About three years ago started mountain biking again. At first once a week and then something happened, I started feeling like a kid again! Now all I want to do is ride my bike and improve my skills. I’ve started the HomeGOO website out of my belief that the ingredients you can buy at your local store are better for you and more environmentally friendly than purchasing disposable gel’s. I’m setting a goal this year to build this business and significantly improve my cycling speed and endurance while juggling being a good husband and father of 3 beautiful children. Follow me to see how it goes! Disclaimer: I am not a professional or expert at: Nutrition, Cycling, Cycling Maintenance or Journalism!

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Help California State Park and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the great article! We need your support like crazy; it’s much appreciated.

    • Thanks for the comment! I ride at Annadel every other day and when I think of it closing I start to get physically ill. Do you think it would help to have signs posted at its many access points stating that it is due to close? I don’t think many of the people who use the park are aware.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

