Gaining an Edge Through Nutrition


I obsess about improving as a cyclist.  Like many of you I have limited time to ride and maybe 1 out of 10 rides I can see or feel like I have made some progress in my overall endurance and speed.

I have come to believe that I can significantly improve my performance through diet and nutrition.  Although I am not as disciplined as I could be in this area I have been tweaking my diet and believe I see improvements.

The biggest change I’ve made is juicing.  After watching Fat Sick and Nearly Dead I became convinced that I needed a juicer. If you have not seen this film I highly recommend it.  You can watch it for free on Hulu by clicking the link above.  It’s a documentary about two men who are in wretched condition and turn their lives around by going on a juice only fast.  I have not gone on a juice fast but have added it to my daily diet and having the infusion of natural vitamines and minerals is defiantly boosting my immune system and recovery time after rides.  I have 3 small children so the common cold and viruses are always being brought home from school.  Several times I have felt the symptoms of sickness creeping in and I will immediately go to my juicer and make and extra-large batch of super juice.  The results have been great! I have been able to ward off several colds that I’m convinced would have otherwise had to run their course. I bought the Jack Lalanne Power Juicer from Costco for about $100.00 and have been very happy with it.

My favorite juice recipe right now is:

1/2 cucumber

2 apples

2 or 3 cups brocoli

4 stalks of celery

3 cups carrots

2 tablespoons chia seeds (If you are not up on the “super food” chia seeds here is a link with more info)

In the latest issue of Bicycling there is a very interesting article How Elite Althletes Are Gaining an Edge: The article focuses on a product called EPO-BOOST www.EPOBOOST.com EPO BOOST claims to “naturally safely stimulates your body’s natural production of the erythropoietin (EPO) hormone. EPO increases the body’s oxygen carrying capacity”. They back up their claim with a 28 day double-blind placebo controlled clinical trial.  The study found a 90% increase in EPO production in those using EPO-BOOST as compared to those taking the placebo.

After reading the article I was ready to go the website order the product and I was working on my justification speech to my wife explaining why I need to spend $45.00 a month for this product.  Then I started thinking that if this is an all natural product they must be formulating it using ingredients I can buy at the store. Conveniently any food product has to list their ingredients so I went to the EPO-BOOST site and within seconds had my answer.

After looking at the ingredients I realized Echinacea was the most obvious ingredient lacking from my diet.

I did a Google search on Echinacea and  boosting EPO and found this recent article on BikeRadar.com.  The article cites a very similar study to the one done by EPO-BOOST in which participates were given 8g of Echinacea for 28 days and placebo.  The group given the Echinacea showed “EPO levels similar to the results obtained from altitude training,”  “There was a significant increase in the per cent change of measured maximal oxygen uptake in the experimental as compared to the control group.”

My conclusion is to run out get some Echinacea and start my own experiment for a month to see if adding this my diet helps me see some significant performance increase.

About homegoo

My name’s Brian and this site is part of my endeavor to embrace my love of cycling and self-improvement. Background: I grew up loving bicycles. I started on a direct drive 16” hand me down with hard rubber tires. From there I got my first BMX bike a 20” Western Flyer with mag wheels; I’ll bet it weighed 30lbs. After that I graduated to my first real quality bike a chrome alloy Redline that was sadly stolen when I neglected to bring it into the garage at a friend’s house. My loving parents were kind enough to replace it with a used Kuwahara which I loved because Elliot from E.T. had a Kuwahara. Around this time I was 11 years old and an opportunity to buy a bicycle shop happened to be presented to my father. The BICYCLE GODS had heard my prayers! My ultimate dream had come true my father purchased Continental Bicycles in Raytown MO. I worked alongside my father every weekend and summer until he decided to close the shops doors around the time I was eighteen. As you may expect during this time I acquired a number of bikes. I raced BMX for many years on a Profile that I loved. I went to college and continued to work in a local bike shop every summer Midwest Cyclery. By the time I went to graduate school I turned my attention to other pursuits beyond cycling and had not really ridden my bike for about 10 years! About three years ago started mountain biking again. At first once a week and then something happened, I started feeling like a kid again! Now all I want to do is ride my bike and improve my skills. I’ve started the HomeGOO website out of my belief that the ingredients you can buy at your local store are better for you and more environmentally friendly than purchasing disposable gel’s. I’m setting a goal this year to build this business and significantly improve my cycling speed and endurance while juggling being a good husband and father of 3 beautiful children. Follow me to see how it goes! Disclaimer: I am not a professional or expert at: Nutrition, Cycling, Cycling Maintenance or Journalism!

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Food & Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Give me a call this weekend at 800-577-9055 and I would love to explain how this product works. I would also like to get you a sample of EnduraFuel so you can try our products and see just how well they work.

    Debbi Carroll
    Biomedical Research Laboratories

  1. Pingback: Naturally BOOST EPO? Sounds good to me. « HomeGOO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

