Naturally BOOST EPO? Sounds good to me.


So I got my free sample of EPO-BOOST and started taking it on 4/12/12.  I was offered a trial after my “Gaining an Edge Through Nutrition” post was read by one of the folks at EPO-BOOST.

It’s supposed to take about a week to start noticing a difference in your performance.  My plan is to track my performance in a pseudoscientific way by using my rides on Strava to do comparisons from a 30 day starting point.  I really hope I notice a difference!

I read about EPO-BOOST in Bicycling Magazines May 2012 issue: “How Elite Athletes Are Gaining an Edge:” and was curious how they were boosting red blood cell production naturally as the article claimed.

I would encourage anyone interested to visit the HOW IT WORKS page of the EPO-BOOST site and read through the detailed info, but here is the basic idea: “EPO-BOOST™ safely stimulates your body’s natural production of the erythropoietin (EPO) hormone. EPO increases the body’s oxygen carrying capacity and has been shown in controlled human clinical studies to significantly increase athletic performance and endurance.”

When I first went to the EPO website and started reading about the ingredients the first thing they mention is the use of Echinacea in a dosage of 8g per day.  My initial thought was that I could save some money by purchasing Echinacea and concocting my boost, but after searching at my local store and online I have found that it’s actually much more expensive to purchase that much Echinacea on its own and you do not get the other vitamines and minerals included in the EPO-BOOST formula.

I started EPO-BOOST a week ago and so far I feel great.  My last two rides have netted several PR (personal records) and I have a century club ride coming up on May 5th so the timing is great to have started the supplement.  With any luck my friends will have a hard time staying on my wheel!

I plan to do a wrap-up post after my full month is up.

About homegoo

My name’s Brian and this site is part of my endeavor to embrace my love of cycling and self-improvement. Background: I grew up loving bicycles. I started on a direct drive 16” hand me down with hard rubber tires. From there I got my first BMX bike a 20” Western Flyer with mag wheels; I’ll bet it weighed 30lbs. After that I graduated to my first real quality bike a chrome alloy Redline that was sadly stolen when I neglected to bring it into the garage at a friend’s house. My loving parents were kind enough to replace it with a used Kuwahara which I loved because Elliot from E.T. had a Kuwahara. Around this time I was 11 years old and an opportunity to buy a bicycle shop happened to be presented to my father. The BICYCLE GODS had heard my prayers! My ultimate dream had come true my father purchased Continental Bicycles in Raytown MO. I worked alongside my father every weekend and summer until he decided to close the shops doors around the time I was eighteen. As you may expect during this time I acquired a number of bikes. I raced BMX for many years on a Profile that I loved. I went to college and continued to work in a local bike shop every summer Midwest Cyclery. By the time I went to graduate school I turned my attention to other pursuits beyond cycling and had not really ridden my bike for about 10 years! About three years ago started mountain biking again. At first once a week and then something happened, I started feeling like a kid again! Now all I want to do is ride my bike and improve my skills. I’ve started the HomeGOO website out of my belief that the ingredients you can buy at your local store are better for you and more environmentally friendly than purchasing disposable gel’s. I’m setting a goal this year to build this business and significantly improve my cycling speed and endurance while juggling being a good husband and father of 3 beautiful children. Follow me to see how it goes! Disclaimer: I am not a professional or expert at: Nutrition, Cycling, Cycling Maintenance or Journalism!

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Food & Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hows it been working?

    • Hi and thank you for your comment. I apologize for the delayed response. I guess my answer is I don’t know. I was regimented on the BOOST for about three weeks. Then I got a lung infection that kept me off the bike for about two weeks. So I was not able to really complete the full month. I don’t think I will be buying or trying it again simply because I don’t want to have to take 4 pills at 4 different times each day. I would rather be a little slower and not have the inconvenience or added expense. If I were a serious racer I would probably stick with it and see if I could notice the added benefit. I do think the science is sound and would not discourage anyone from giving it a try.

  1. Pingback: EPO BOOST follow-up « HomeGOO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

